Broadcasters condemn BJP move to boycott CNN-IBN

The News Broadcasters Association(NBA) and the Editors Guild of India on 2 August slammed the BJP for its decision to boycott the CNN-IBN and its affiliated channels if it did not telecast the tapes of the sting operation carried out on July 22, saying the move was a new threat to the freedom of the press.

In a statement NBA president G Krishnan said the step taken by the BJP was not in the interest of broadcasters and the media community, and set a bad precedent.

''Political parties must recognise that editors have the freedom to decide what to telecast and what not and cannot be subject to any interference. If it happens media organisation would lose its independence. A boycott of a network is not the way forward and suggests a new threat to the freedom of the press,'' he said.

The NBA suggested to the BJP to review its stand and avoid a situation of confrontation which was not in the interests of a harmonious relationship between political parties and media professionals.

The News Broadcasters Association (NBA) has elected G Krishnan, CEO TV Today Network, as its president for 2007-08.

Sameer Manchanda, Joint Manageing Directer Global Broadcasts Ltd, has been elected as vice-presidnet and KVL Narayan Rao, CEO NDTV Ltd is now honorary treasurer and Ms Annie Joseph is secretary general of the Association.

These office-bearers are also Board members of the NBA. Other members are CEO Times Global Sunil Lalla, Chinamani Rao of India TV, CEO Zee News Harish Doraiswamy and CEO Media Contenet and Communications Ltd Uday Shankar.


Popular posts from this blog

Cover-up Commissions

Public Statement on Prashant Bhushan's contempt case

Obama Administration Releasing New Rules To Expand Ability To Hold Citizens' Data